lostinalife

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Longing for Autumn August 27, 2012

Filed under: Autumn,Football,Seasons — lostinalife @ 4:54 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I can’t help it; I want it to be fall so badly right now.

Thankfully, we’re not too far away. Here in the Pacific Northwest fall tends to show up around mid-September or perhaps slightly earlier. As a pale redhead, summer and I don’t mix well – at all. There are so many reasons as to why I long for fall that some of them I can hardly describe. The feelings, the atmosphere…so very beautiful.

I love pumpkin spice lattes, cold crisp air that requires a sweater, and the sun setting sooner in the evening. I love going to the pumpkin patches and trying to carve patterns that are way too difficult for my skills. There have been many times when I’ve been so excited to do a specific pattern, then half way into it I curse under my breath, asking whatever deity that will listen why they allowed me to choose this…Somehow, though, they always turn out.

I also love football games on Sundays. Every Sunday, I go see my dad, we have snacks, and we watch the Seahawks game together. It’s filled with laughter, and the occasional moment of screaming at the television at an exciting play. Usually afterwards we have some political discussion, or talk about history, or even just talk about work. As silly as it sounds, I don’t see my dad much outside of football season; everything else just seems so busy and there’s rarely time. Football Sundays usually contain so many great memories. September 9th can’t possible come soon enough – first game of the season!

Fall brings me a peace that I can’t seem to explain correctly. Nothing in life changes; I still have to pay my bills, go to work, watch the news…But the feeling is different. There is a different glow to the world with all the brightly colored leaves that you just don’t get any other time of year. There is an unhurried feeling driving into work while the sun is rising and you are sipping on your coffee or tea. The feeling is almost magical.

Autumn can’t possibly come soon enough for me this year. ❤

-Elysia

 

Leave a Reply

