lostinalife

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Week One of Weight Watchers. September 23, 2012

Filed under: Life,Weight loss — lostinalife @ 8:33 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, I did it. I finally joined Weight Watchers with the encouragement from a very good friend of mine. I have been incredibly skeptical of Weight Watchers for a long time; I’ve made up every excuse in the book to not join. I joined Sunday September 16th, and one week later, here’s what happened…

On a typical day, my meals consisted of an energy drink, some sort of bacon, egg, and cheese, and some calorie and fat packed lunch. Being insulin resistant, this was not a good idea, and weight started piling on. I was drinking pop like no one’s business, and I was some how okay with it. This past year, I’ve gone through a lot of changes in my life; I came out and accepted being lesbian, I moved back in with my parents after a bad break up, and I struggled with depression. After the break up and realizing I was depressed, I looked at myself in the mirror – I mean I took a really close look. I hated what I saw.

I weighed in last Sunday at 343lbs, and I wanted to die.

So, joining Weight Watchers was very important to me. My friend brought me to a meeting before I signed up, and it did open my eyes to show that I was not the only one who struggled. It was already a warming feeling to know that I was not alone. Starting on Sunday, I got to work.

I didn’t really mean to make changes, honestly. I saw how many points my Rockstar drinks were, and didn’t want to waste the points on them. I found the nutritional info for the meals I had been eating, and was stunned. I began switching things without even thinking about it. Water, to save on points, and fruit and veggies, because they are zero points. I won’t lie, I had a burger for lunch, and I even enjoyed a beer or two, but each day, I stayed below my allotted points, and even kicked a nasty caffeine addiction that I had struggled with for far too long.

I weighed in yesterday 5.8lbs lighter.

It’s not much considering what a long journey I have ahead of me, but god damn I lost nearly 6 lbs! I can’t even describe the feeling. I was doubtful for so long, and didn’t think this could possibly work for me, but there it was – results already! I know it has to be due to water weight, and skipping on the high sugar beverages, but still. I couldn’t stop smiling.

I don’t expect to lose 6lbs each week, and clearly, that would be unhealthy. But for some reason, Weight Watchers has given me a structure that I could never put together myself, and motivation that I have simply never had before. Getting on the scale yesterday in front of the receptionist and my best friend was scary, but it also made me want to continue to try my absolute hardest at this.

Here’s to hoping my weigh in on September 29th also wields great results!

Xoxo – Elysia

 

Leave a Reply

