lostinalife

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The temptations, and the incredible change. January 29, 2013

This weekend was a total bust.

The foods that I ate and drinking that I partook in would disgust any paleo person, and by the end of the weekend, even I couldn’t believe it. Let’s just say, homemade fried chicken was involved. ‘Nuff said.

The temptations over the weekend we ridiculously overwhelming, and I caved. Afterwards, I had a brief chat with my family that I would no longer be eating processed foods, and that I was going to need some support with that. The parents were supportive, but I’m pretty sure the brothers didn’t care. Pretty typical.

I kicked off yesterday with two eggs and two slices of deli ham, and a little coconut milk. I have to say, that stuff is beginning to be my favorite drink. Freaking amazing! It’s sweet, but not sugary…totally refreshing…I love it. For lunch, I made a whole can of tuna with homemade mayo, but only ate half. It just wasn’t sounding good, and I wasn’t hungry enough to eat the whole thing. Dinner was a spinach/banana/blueberry/coconut milk smoothie and a portabella mushroom cap baked with a slice of ham and an egg. Yum!

Food today is going quite well. I had some primal granola with coconut milk for breakfast, along with some bacon and sausage, and I’m waiting to have a homemade primal hamburger patty for lunch. I’m pretty stoked.

At the beginning of March, I’ll be a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding, and it’s got me thinking a lot. What could I accomplish by then? Could I possibly lose some weight to look at least SOMEWHAT better in a dress? How much could I (healthily) lose? How much could I POSSIBLY thank her for telling me I’ll be able to wear flats?

It made me want to take a long walk. Up a hill. Or to lift something heavy. Or walk up a hill while lifting something heavy. Okay, maybe not  that last one, but the point is, I want to get moving and lifting. I want to know how far I could go before the wedding while still being healthy. I want to just throw everything I’ve got into this and see what happens in the end. I know I’m getting the food thing down – I already feel better, and even went without coffee this morning. Anyone who knows me KNOWS that is a huge deal for me. I’m a coffee/caffeine addict. I gave it up, felt tired of just a little bit this morning, and now I’m perfectly fine.

I think what I’m trying to say is that I want to make this my priority; I want to make my healthy the focus that it should have been all this time. I want to watch myself shrink and know that it wasn’t a magic pill or an invasive surgery…but that it was me and my raw willpower to make it happen.

Here’s to an awesome day of motivation and pure awesome determination!

Keep calm and rock on,

Elysia

 

6 Responses to “The temptations, and the incredible change.”

  1. mickae14 Says:

    What’s your recipe for homemade mayo?! I’m a Miracle Whip addict, but I’m trying to cut out processed foods, too.

    • lostinalife Says:

      Hey!

      So, my recipe is to mix together one egg yolk, a little lemon juice, a little dijon (or just regular spicy) mustard, and a little white wine vinegar until it’s blended. Then, beat in 1/4 cup canola oil, about 1/2 teaspoon at a time. Once you’ve finished that, in a steady stream, add another 1/2 cup of canola oil. Don’t add it too fast! I recommend using a hand mixer. Beat with mixer for until thick – about 4-6 minutes.

      The lemon, vinegar, and mustard should be to your liking. If in the end you don’t like to taste, add a little bit of what you think it may need.

      Hope you like it!! Let me know what you think 🙂

  2. shellymariebyard Says:

    You go girl!

  3. Go for it, lostinalife! Never give up; never surrender! 🙂


Leave a Reply

