lostinalife

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Pescapollitarian (say THAT three times fast) March 21, 2013

I’m pretty sure I made that word up, but let me explain.

I eat too much meat; I eat a lot of pork and beef, and I never feel good afterwards. I feel incredibly weighted down, fatigued, and just plan gross. But I love it. Oh man, it’s the best. There is NOTHING like a grilled steak in the summer time with a slathering of BBQ sauce. *drools*. I just don’t like how I feel afterwards.

I’ve decided to cut red meat and pork out of my diet. There is a very high risk of heart disease on both sides of my family, and I know that these meats aren’t helping anything. So, I’m only going to eat fish and p0ultry, which frankly is fine by me. It will save me money at the store, and it will help keep my tummy from freaking out every time I eat it.

I’ve also got my mom on board to what I’m doing; I let her know I’m back on Weight Watchers, and that I’ve cut out beef and pork. She is a great support to me, and I know I’ll be able to stay on track with her help. She and I will also be getting up early starting Monday to be able to walk our golden retriever/lab puppy in the mornings  before work. My mother also has quite a bit of weight to lose, so it’s nice to be able to do this together. We’re trying to talk my 20 year old brother into it, as he has overweight (not terribly, but he is), and also my 25 year old sister, which has almost as much weight to lose as I do. She wants to do the weight loss surgery, but I’m trying to talk her out of it. Sure, she’ll lose the weight, but she’ll never get over her emotions that are related to food. Seriously…I don’t want her to do it!

At this very moment, I’m trying to convince my mom to do Weight Watchers with me. It would be SO much easier to have another person in my house that is doing the same thing; it would be great to be able to keep each other accountable and honest! My stepdad and 16 year old brother are both within a healthy weight, but could definitely stand to eat healthier. I feel like if we do this as a family effort, we could have amazing results!

Right now, I’m feeling really good. I am feeling more positive, more upbeat, and more willing to keep going. I don’t feel alone, and I really feel like having more people by my side is going to help me a lot.

Let’s do this! 😉

-Elysia

 

4 Responses to “Pescapollitarian (say THAT three times fast)”

  1. Nice going – sometimes you’ve just got to listen to what your body’s telling you, I find.

  2. latteissues Says:

    Hey Elysia!! Thank you for following us! Good luck with your journey! Keep us posted! (So many exclamation points but thats just how excited we are haha)

  3. sjw91 Says:

    I think this is a wise choice, especially using Weight Watchers on top of it. I tried only sticking to fish, I couldn’t sustain it. Chicken is cheap and can be cooked in a lot of different ways. Pork and beef really aren’t all that healthy anyway. Good luck, I hope this and the new iPod and all the support will help you out! I’m here too, with the same kinds of goals in mind.


Leave a Reply

