lostinalife

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Getting serious, and waking up early. March 25, 2013

My morning started at 4:30am, when I was jolted awake after hearing my bedroom door open. Standing in the shadows was my tired eyed mother, whispering “Get up, sis! It’s 4:30, and Chloe is whining!”

Chloe is our 14 week old golden retriever/golden lab puppy who is probably the cutest puppy we’ve ever had. Don’t get me wrong, I love our two chihuahuas with all of my heart, but Chloe is a “real” dog, and she seemed to sense that we were waking up to spend time with her.

I got up, trying desperately to remind myself that this was going to be good for me as I slipped on my Converses. I pulled on my sweater and met my mom at the front door, Chloe in tow on her leash. The cold air (it was 35 degrees out this morning) hit my face hard, and we started on our walk. We didn’t talk a whole lot, except for a few comments about Chloe getting really excited to be outside. We walked around our block, and back home. It was only about 15 minutes, but it was enough to wake me up enough to not want to take a quick nap before getting ready for work.

Given that I was already awake, and had plenty of time to get ready, I was able to make myself a quick breakfast (an apple with two tablespoons of peanut butter), and prepare a lunch so that I didn’t have to attempt to buy something healthy at work. I made a quick tuna salad and grabbed two slices of my favorite 21 grain bread. I also grabbed a plum to bring along with me. Usually I buy both breakfast and lunch at work, approx. $10-13 per day. It felt pretty good knowing that I would be saving that cash! I also saved another $10 by parking on the street about a block away rather than parking in the garage at my work. I can see this as a great way to save about $100 a week! Who can beat that???

I also talked my mom into joining Weight Watchers Online with me. It’s SO hard to be the only person in the house to do something like this, so it will be wonderful to have her with me. It will keep me very accountable, and I know taking these walks every morning will also help. I just keep imagining myself walking off the pounds, and figuring out what keeps me full and satisfied. It will be interesting to change my relationship with food; I’m used to eating for comfort, or for boredom. I’m used to thinking “Well, I’m fat anyways, so who cares if I eat an extra piece of candy”. I’m ready to change my relationship with food to feeling better eating healthy, and only eating because I’m hungry. THAT is the part I am looking forward to the most.

So far, Monday morning is starting off incredibly well. I’m happy, I’m awake, and I’m motivated. I have all the support I need, and I’m ready to keep going!

Cheers to getting healthier!

Ely.

 

Leave a Reply

