lostinalife

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Day 2: Well, would you look at that… April 17, 2013

Weight as of Monday: 341.8 lbs

Weight as of this morning: 338.6 lbs

Total lost: 3.2 lbs

Total lost since March 25th: 16.4lbs

Whoa! Talk about detoxing…What a crazy amount of weight lost already! And it’s only the second day!

I’m feeling pretty good, except for feeling a bit nauseous this morning. I haven’t finished my breakfast juice because frankly, I’m not all that hungry. I’ll probably just sip on it for a while. I can feel that I’m still cleaning out old waste, and I think that’s what is making me not feel the best. I do have a headache, most likely from my caffeine withdraws, but I figure they will pass soon.

Fun fact about why you get headaches when you quit drinking caffeine…Caffeine helps create more spinal fluid that goes into the spinal column, of course protecting your spinal cord. When you stop drinking caffeine, you’re making less spinal fluid, and sending a “danger” signal to your brain because it now thinks you’re not going to have enough to protect everything. The headaches wear off when your brain realizes that your spinal cord is not in any danger.

Crazy stuff, right? I learned that once when I had to have a lumbar puncture, or “spinal tap”. They made me drink lots of caffeine to avoid a “spinal headache” due to lack of spinal fluid. Terrible thing is, I ended up getting the spinal headache anyways. Literally the WORST pain I have ever experienced in my life…

Anyways, I woke up with more energy this morning. I was able to get through my morning walk at a really brisk pace, and I think I chatted my stepdad’s ear off about juicing and how great I was feeling. He was really surprised about my 3lb weight loss already, and I have to admit, I was surprised too. I figured okay…maybe a pound, MAYBE two…but three? Awesome! Oh, and when I walked down my stairs this morning, I had absolutely no joint pain. Usually I practically limp down the stairs, but my knees and ankles felt great. How awesome is that??

Today I juiced cucumber, carrots, spinach, green apple, pear, lemon, grapefruit, and ginger for my breakfast juice. It tastes wonderful (just like grapefruit!) and I think the ginger is really the key ingredient. It’s so good for you! My lunch juice is lettuce, cucumber, lime, green apple, spinach, celery, carrots, and of course more ginger. I’ll have to go back to the produce stand tonight for more veggies…I’m starting to run out!

It’s already getting easier to ignore the small hunger pangs, and I don’t even have the desire to eat anything. I think it’s a “mind over matter” thing, and it definitely helps  to already be seeing results and feeling better. I’m still just taking everything one day/meal/thought at a time. I know that if I continue like this, I’ll be able to make it for however many days I feel I can get through!

Well, I’ll post more tonight about how I’m doing…here’s to a great day!

Cheers,

Ely.

 

Leave a Reply

